Did he Dive or was he Tripped?
Updated Tuesday, 21st December 2004
Scotsport had more than its usual number of viewers in Lanarkshire this week as Motherwell fans tuned in to see the controversial moment when referee Toner judged that Clarkson took a dive. What was the verdict?
The incident happened ten minutes from the end of Saturdayís match when we were down two-one. Clarkson got to the ball first and then Brown got himself tangled in the strikerís ankles. Down he went and then the referee made his decision.
All of the studio discussion concentrated on Davidís behaviour while the keeper didnít get a mention. The replay suggests that the refereeís view of the incident may have been hampered by a defender. There is no defence to our manís reluctance to accept Tonerís decision and he can have little complaint at the second booking.
However, the debate about the dive or penalty will continue. The TV evidence seems to show that the keeper made contact and it is the case that almost every striker would have tried to gain the advantage.
Clarkson will have to watch the next game from the stand and no doubt heíll rue his unnecessary dismissal. Letís hope he learns from the experience.